Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

Don’t mind me!

Posted by Line Larsen on October 22, 2008

Don’t mind me, I am just eavesdropping. I am just listening in, while you talk to your friend or lover or ex-husband. I just want to watch you while you pick your child up, try to pay attention to the way your hair moves and the look on your face. Do you mind? Let me see how you walk. Maybe you have a special style of moving your feet, unknown to me to this day. Maybe you have a smile worth a thousand words. I need to record it!

Don’t mind me, I am not trying to be rude. I am not staring to make you uncomfortable, it’s just art. You’re art already, I will just put it down on a piece of paper, for everyone to see. They don’t notice it unless someone describe it to them. How tears run, how voices flutter, how eyes lie. They don’t know and I need to tell them. So let me make some notes, I want to make sure I get you just right…

I love watching people, listening to people, taking them in. I can have the best of times alone in a cafe with a little notebook and a glass of diet coke. Jotting down dialogue I steal from the table next to me, letting my mind drift about the character behind the look when I see an interesting stranger.

My main inspiration is people. Everyone, everywhere. They’re wonderful. They’re art.

One Response to “Don’t mind me!”

  1. aporia said

    True :]

Leave a Reply

 
