Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

500 words on love

Posted by Line Larsen on September 10, 2008

Writers are passionate about words. Playing around with them, changing them, using them in unexpected ways. Abusing them, at times. Always flipping through the thesaurus in our brain to convey the exact emotion or mood we have pictured for particular scenes and characters.

I simply love attempting to steer my readers’ thoughts in subtle or obvious ways. A sense of power, perhaps? A director of emotions.

There is one area where I feel I come up short, however. I tend to avoid it, because I dislike sounding like all the rest. I even slightly dislike when other people write about it, because most of them sound like all the rest as well. More importantly, until recently, I didn’t even get it.

Love. I feel it should be a longer word. Complex, intricate and near to impossible to pronounce. Or maybe whoever thought of it knew that strong emotions are better hinted at.

What’s all the fuzz about? I thought, ignorantly. It must have been like attempting to describe the the smell of fresh air to someone who has never felt it in their lunges or Vivaldi’s “Four Seasons” to someone who has been deaf all their life. But at least now I can relate, thanks to one person. Which brings me to my point.

“Write plus five hundred words on why you love me. I’ll pay you five dollars”, he said.

I believe it is time to try, to face my fear of failure head on. Tomorrow, not today. I am still busy dodging and dreading the clichés for now.

3 Responses to “500 words on love”

  1. angela said

    I agree, Love is one of the toughest emotions to get right without faling into the dreaded cliche. I think when describing something so powerful, we want to compare it, contrast it, find metaphors and similes for it. Try to put a twist on those chiches that spring to mind. Good luck!

  2. Thank you for the tips, they will come in handy.

    And thank you for reading and commenting :)

  3. […] September 14, 2008 You can read the first part of this entry here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
