Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

How to handle rejection? … Seriously, tell me!

Posted by Line Larsen on September 6, 2008

I was recently hired to write an article titled “How to handle rejection”. I found it rather ironic, but it didn’t make me chuckle. Nobody knows as much about rejection as freelance writers and unpublished authors.

My article gave wholesome advice, such as “don’t take it personally” and all that blather. Like most people, I know the theory but fail in reality. If someone doesn’t like my writing, and certainly if it is a professional, I do take it to heart.

To be a truly good writer, you have to be passionate about what you do. You have to live and breathe it, want it more than anything else, constantly trying to move forward.

So… Tell me how to avoid getting personal about your work when your work is writing?

But that’s okay. A few crushed dreams or feelings of inadequacy doesn’t matter much, as long as you pick yourself up and keep going. This is where all that passion comes in handy, it will keep pushing you towards your dream regardless.

However, my number one tip for handling rejection as a writer is to find a good friend. Someone who believes in you and happens to be an amateur motivational speaker. More importantly, someone who accepts you for you and can remind you that you’re so much more than what you can produce.

Thank you to the anonymous article provider for inspiring this entry.

Leave a Reply

 
