Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

Fictional fiction #1

Posted by Line Larsen on September 5, 2008

“Did I ever tell you”, Heather said, “that I sneak out at night and push the swing on the playground?”

Simon shook his head. She couldn’t see the expression on his face, only this small movement in the dark.

“I do. I push an empty swing.”

“What do you want me to do about it?”

He shrugged slightly and raised to his feet. With the characteristic posture of someone worn out and worn down, he walked over to the book shelves in the corner and brought back a hidden pack of cigarettes. Silently he held it out, offering her one.

“You smoke now?” she asked.

“Yeah.”

Thirty-three days ago Heather decided to stop counting how much time had passed since she had heard his dark, soft voice utter more than a few carefully chosen words in one go.

“Do you think I’m insane?”

“No, Heather”, Simon answered slowly as if speaking to the lost child. For a couple of seconds he tried to convince himself to take her hand. The resigned side of him won and a few spare tears ran down her cheeks. Wincing, he remembered a time when her tears were precious to him.

5 Responses to “Fictional fiction #1”

  1. This is good. I got a spooky vibe from it.

    Definitely an interesting bit of writing.

  2. Thank you again.

    It is one of my very first attempts at fiction in English, as English is my second language. Naturally I am trying to get published in my mother tongue.

    Hence the title; Fictional Fiction ;)

  3. ootq said

    I also felt that it had a thick, spooky vibe. It was a good piece.

    Ever thought about trying a horror piece? Just for funsies?

  4. No, I haven’t. I don’t even read horror, so I suspect I would fail horribly.

    I will think about it :)

  5. […] September 8, 2008 I started this story a few days back. You can read the first part here. […]

Leave a Reply

 
