Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

Emotional reasoning and being reasonable

Posted by Line Larsen on September 5, 2008

“What was your reason for writing when you were seven years old?” he asked. He must have felt that was a clever question, so I decided to give him a clever answer.

“I didn’t know about publishers when I was a child. Then again, I didn’t know about rent, putting food on the table or paying bills either.”

“You didn’t answer my question.”

Why did I write when I was seven?

I wrote because it was the most entertaining activity I could think of. Because I wanted to tell a story. Because it silenced my inner monologue for a short while. Because the look on my mother’s proud face afterwards was the most valuable reward I could think of.

My goal has changed now; I want to make a living writing, because I want writing to be my life. I understand about time restraints, salaries and having bigger audiences than my immediate family. I want to be a professional.

Even so, I doubt the feeling I would get receiving the acceptance letter from a publisher will compare to the feeling I got when my mum recently said: “I am so proud that you have written this.”

Twenty-six or seven, the difference isn’t that big.

Thank you to Ross for inspiring this entry.

4 Responses to “Emotional reasoning and being reasonable”

  1. Great post here. I hope you can make your dream come true! :)

  2. Thank you. I hope the same for you! :)

  3. bersinink said

    You have a great writing style. You are a professional writer. The next part is making a living from it. I’m sure you can do it!

  4. bersinink- Thank you so much for your kind words and encouragement. It means a lot to me.

Leave a Reply

 
