Sunshine & Chocolate & Everything Writing

Writing as if I have something to say.

Rambling talent

Posted by Line Larsen on September 2, 2008

When I cannot think anything else good about myself, which unfortunately happens now and again, I say to myself: “You can write, you have a talent.” Not an amazing talent, of course. I still have to develop further. However, writing feels right, all the time. There is no questioning it, I am meant to write.

I am not a spiritual person. I don’t believe in God-given talents or fate. Nevertheless, I like the thought of some sort of purpose, whether you create it yourself or not. My purpose is writing. It is the only thing in my life that I have always wanted to do. It makes me special, it is my voice. Which is why it offended me greatly when an otherwise intelligent person said that talent is just a matter of practice.

So… Everyone and anyone can do it?

Talent is a tricky thing. All the people I admire have worked to get where they are today. Neither skill nor success was just handed to them. They perfected their gift, whether it’d be maths or singing or painting, through meticulous practice. Though the idea that they didn’t have something special to begin with bothers me.

You cannot pick just anyone, train them for sprinting from an early age and then set a new world record. It requires a certain build to be the best of the best in sports. Why can’t this be applied to writing? While your leg muscles probably doesn’t come into play, I am pretty certain your brain and how it operates does.

“It offends me that you think someone is born a better writer than me”, he said.

That is the downside, even for me. There will always be someone better, however you choose to measure it. That’s okay. The beauty of art, as opposed to maths or sprinting, is that it’s a matter of opinion. I doubt I will ever consider myself the best anyway. It’s lovely to have someone to look up to and something to aspire towards. At the end of the day, the only one I am truly in competition with is myself.

Thank you to Ross for inspiring this entry.

Leave a Reply

 
